PDA

View Full Version : Could I have a disease?

MorganAtlanta
10-28-2012, 07:28 AM
I've been losing fish intermittently for the past several months. It's been about one a month or so. I've lost a ghost eel, naso tang, scribbled rabbit fish, spiny box puffer (could be unrelated, they are just hard to keep), and then this week a midas blenny that I'd had for over two years. Aside from the puffer, they were all eating well and showed no signs of stress or outward signs of disease. No white spots, velvet, fungus, flukes, etc. They just croaked. I'm wondering if my tank has an infection of something, maybe an internal parasite?

My parameters are pretty good, but not great for this site. Nitrate measures zero on an API test kit. Phosphate measures 0.19 on a Hannah Checker. Alk/Calc are okay, but little low.

The tank is pretty much a FOWLR except for kenya tree, teal palys and GSP.

The tank is a standard 125 gallon with a 29 gallon sump. I've only got 7 small fish left-- three anthias, a cardinal, a watchman goby, a kole tang and a longnose hawk.

I'm feeding two cubes of mixed frozen every other day, plus a very small amount of pellets twice a day for the anthias.

The current scrubber is an LED lit, single-sided, 8 x 10 screen waterfall with very good growth.

I'm battling a cyano outbreak also, but I think that is due to the high phosphate and probably unrelated to the fish issues.

Do fish loses like mine fit a pattern of an aquarium disease? From what I've read, they just don't seem to, so I'm a little baffled as to what could be killing them off.

Any thoughts?

RkyRickstr
10-28-2012, 07:37 AM
Bro, you scared the crap out of me.. lol.. u gotta change that tittle...

MorganAtlanta
10-28-2012, 08:19 AM
It got you to look...

sklywag
10-28-2012, 08:51 AM
Have posted on other sites with a more diverse crowd than us? Might be some fish geeks.