PDA

View Full Version : Troubleshoot my design

Nathan
07-20-2009, 08:36 AM
Hi all!

I am a newbie to algae filtration, so I hope you will pardon my ignorance. I'm interested in setting up an algae scrubber as a phosphate remover for a 300 gallon freshwater display tank at a school. The tank is a bit odd; I inherited responsibility for it and have no idea how it was initially set up, but now it looks like this:

http://i194.photobucket.com/albums/z161/Newt1453/300gallonfiltration-current.png

There is a false back that houses the filtration area. The false back is divided in two; water from each side goes through an overflow near the center of the tank, under and then over partitions, then spills into a large chamber with two pumps at the end. There are several partitions, open at top and bottom, in this larger chamber which I believe are meant to separate media types. I would like to install trickle plates across the tops of these partitions in order to create more of a wet/dry situation and use more of the available media volume. It occurred to me that it might be possible to make the trickle plates serve double duty as an area for algal colonization. I have two fluorescent fixtures that I can set up above the trickle plates, each of which takes two 14 watt T5 lamps. Each trickle plate would be about 4" X 30" and receive ca. 800 gph flow. I have additional pumps which may be brought to bear if necessary. My initial plan for building the trickle plates is to use acrylic sheets with holes drilled in, with three layers of needlepoint canvas placed on top.

So a summary:
300 gallon tank
total 1200 in.² scrubber space, mounted horizontally
56 watts of fluorecent light, top side only
ca. 1600 gallons per hour over scrubbers, can be raised to 2400 gph