PDA

View Full Version : Roughing up the screens, another option?

fuzzyt
09-22-2009, 03:09 PM
Newbie here with one of "those" questions....

Dont know if its been tried or discussed, and it would be more expensive, BUT, what about using multiple strips of velcro hooks attached to a larger surface for the screen? It wouldn't provide much in the way of allowing algae to grow through to multiple levels, but I can't think of anything else pre-canned that is rougher and designed to grab. I suspect the hardest part might be keeping it on the larger surface.

SantaMonica
09-22-2009, 04:38 PM
You can try it, but you'd want to epoxy it, and not sticky it. You kind of end up with the same problem when cleaning though... you have to be gentle and not remove all the algae.

AlgaeNator
09-23-2009, 10:19 PM
Having done the hole saw thing, Im not sure you can best it.. Why improve on the wheel?

I am trying a very FINE plastic canvas/mesh that I hope will do the trick even better as well.... pictures shortly to come tomorrow.

I think that the roughed up canvass for now is the way to go.. course Im a gnoob so take it with a grain of salt.. hahahah

fuzzyt
09-24-2009, 12:09 PM
Why improve on the wheel?

Because without improving on the wheel, sites like this would never exist and we would all still think that white was the natural color of coral... :lol:

Yeah, think I'm gonna test it out. Should be able to get something built this weekend. I used a hole saw on my current one, and although it seems to be working, I think it could be better.

KansasNative
12-22-2009, 05:45 AM
Ok, did anyone ever try the hook or loop of Velcro for an algae substrate growing media ? :?:

I need to know if it worked. If no one has I will try it.

Thanks. Oh, and Merry Christmas to all.

ali1
12-22-2009, 06:15 AM
So what are the other different ways in roughing up plastic canvas besides the hole saw?

jgreen1025
12-22-2009, 07:37 AM