PDA

View Full Version : Converted Back of Tank on Nano Cardiff to UAS - First Time build

g6gang
04-10-2014, 10:13 AM
So this is my first attempt at a UAS so appreciate the feedback. I have had the tank (29G Cardiff) for 2+ years and tried just about everything to keep unwanted algae and Nitrates down, nothing has worked. So I am hoping based on what I read that this will be the key to success. The included protein-skimmer that came with the tank just totally sucked, so I have taken the skimmer compartment apart and made a slot in it to slide the Scrubber plastic (that I roughed up pretty well). For 'bubbles' I am testing the re-use of the protein skimmer Venturi (it has tons of micro-bubbles and covers the entire chamber) - see attached pics. For a light, I built my first LED from LED-group-buy using just deep reds (LED Group Buy said I needed 5 for the driver so it is kinda bright). I just installed it yesterday and will post more pics later this week. See attached pics.

SantaMonica
04-10-2014, 11:16 AM
Nice build. Five 3-watt LEDs is a bit much, so let's see how it grows. Also larger bubbles are better to move the growth around, but let's see how the small ones do.

g6gang
04-10-2014, 11:32 AM
yeah I was wondering on the # of LEDs as well - through two would be fine, but did not understand the electronics side of it. The LED-group Buy giu said that the Inventronics driver requires a minmum of 12V - so not sure what would happen if I only put 2 on there - will the bulbs burn out? I bought the solderless version so very easy to re-wire if need be. Also curios if a heat sink is neccessary? I used rigid wire so was originally thinking to "suspend" the bulbs by using the rigid wire that is secured to the "frame". It is in back of tank so don't care on looks.

SantaMonica
04-10-2014, 01:33 PM
Less LEDs would just blink.

Heat sink is too big but does not hurt. It does need some heatsink.

See how it grows; if it stays white in the middle, cover a few LEDs.

g6gang