PDA

View Full Version : Lighting question

axelf1
10-22-2009, 09:09 PM
Hello everybody

I recently built a hang on the back scrubber, its a compact little unit and so lighting is very close to the screen (about 2.5cm or an inch away) Im a noob but have tried to do as much research as possible
My scrubber has been running for about 2 weeks (only started) but im a little concerned since the only algae I can see growing appears to be avoiding the parts of the screen where the bulbs are at there brightest...
algae is growing on the top edge, bottom and sides of the screen but not at all in the centre area where the bulbs are and most of the light is.
I have measured the temperature of the water coming out of the scrubber and its no higher than the input water so its not a heat problem I dont think?

Is it possible the lights been so close makes it too bright/intense for algae to grow ?

Help and advice much appreciated :-)
Dont have a camera to post pictures sorry

routestomarket
10-23-2009, 02:16 AM
In a word, Yes!

What lights are you using?

axelf1
10-23-2009, 02:39 AM
Hi thanks for the reply, the lights are pl 13 watt 2700k http://www.elightbulbs.com/catalog_product.cfm?source=ShopzillaCSE&prod=TC32014

routestomarket
10-23-2009, 03:19 AM
I personally have not used the 2-Pin type of bulb but there could be a few fators that close which are:

heat (remember algae too needs to be kept as cool as the tank)
UV
Light intensity
Light Spectrum

AFIK the colour temperature of a bulb, although designed through the particular gasses and chemicals used, is specified for a normal application.

If the bulbs temperature is 2700 at 6 foot it would be hard to tell the temp etc at 1 "

Hope this helps

SantaMonica
10-23-2009, 04:37 AM
The problem is the bulb is to close for the amount of flow. You can reduce the wattage, or reduce the hours it is on (less than 18), or move it farther away, or increase the flow.

axelf1
10-23-2009, 05:06 PM