PDA

View Full Version : carbon source dosing in conjuction with the use of an ATS???

jlinzmaier
10-31-2009, 05:53 PM
I've had lots of experience with carbon dosing and about three months ago I stopped the carbon dosing and started up my first ATS. The ATS has done very well at managing nutrients but I'm just wodering if anyone here uses ATS's in addition to carbon dosing for any reason.

I'm sure there is potential for the bacteria to outcompete the algae for nutrients thus impeding the function of the ATS, but I'm thinking of just dosing small amounts. What I've got in mind is dosing small amounts of vitamin C both for bacterial proliferation but also for the other benefits that people claim to have when dosing Vitamin C.

Anyone here dose a carbon source for bacterial proliferation as well as utilizing an ATS??

Jeremy

SantaMonica
11-01-2009, 09:17 AM
I have, during my experiments in continuous feeding. I've fed much more food than the system was capable of dealing with (corals, including NPS, went crazy), and then used vodka to help. Vodka works even without a skimmer, and adds even more food (bacteria) to the water, but if you dose too much you start getting bacterial mats on the rocks and glass. I'm currently testing 3ml/day of vodka along with 8ml/day of blended oysters (along with daily nori and 2 silversides weekly). I've gone as high as 72ml/day food, and 40ml/day vodka, but it was big time overload for my current scrubber. They work fine together; it's just a matter of your scrubber being powerful enough. I'm trying to find the point where P does not get higher than .15, and N does not get higher than 25, and coralline keeps growing, but where I can also feed as much as possible.

jlinzmaier
11-01-2009, 11:35 AM