PDA

View Full Version : totall newbie here

dapex
12-20-2009, 03:45 PM
Hi all, I have had a marine tank for the last few years but due to time and money constraints its got the stage where I either need to sell it or find a better way to look after it. My skimmer bust last week and I cant afford a new one and I then found this site. I have to be honest and say I am pretty crap at my handyman skills and so I am seriously worried about getting this wrong and making a total mess of the whole system.

Mt tank is a 5x2x2, what size screen do I need, my return pump is an or3500. Mt tank has 2 weirs which feed down into my sump, in order to keep this as easy and as cheap as possible I would ideally like to have the scrubber in the sump and just let me current weir piping feed it, does this sound feasible to you guys??

I know I can read this forum and should be able to get an answer to these questions but to be honest I am scared of getting it wrong... Would you mind answering my questions so that I know I am getting the correct answers??

One more question i have just thought about, bearing in mind the running cost of my tank is giving me a headache (simply not earning as much as I used to) can I use low energy bulbs (the household type) or will they simply not do the job?

I will ask the wife to do a diagram of my current setup tomorrow and try to attach it to this post then.

Cheers for taking the time to read this..

Dapex

Rawr
12-20-2009, 06:23 PM
5x2x2 (feet?) is a 156 Gallon tank(590L) or somewhere around that. So thats 156 square inches if you make a vertical scrubber or 300 horizontal. Just go with the vertical one it really isn't all that difficult. You'll only need a sheet thats like 10x15(inches) or whatever size that fits better in your sump.