PDA

View Full Version : Flow Rate Dilemma

emieczko
03-15-2010, 09:14 AM
Let me preface this with an admission to being a newb. I'm an open minded newb, though, so I know that nothing I state is "fact," and I take criticism very well :).

I currently have a 20g freshwater tank. I'm planning to spend the next year learning as much as I can with the goal of moving to a reef tank in the neighborhood of 100g.

The struggle I'm having at the moment is setting up a good flow rate for a scrubber in my current tank. The recommendations seem to be for shorter/wider screens and that's driving fairly high flow rates. My tank is populated by mostly very small fish, 1" length range. I don't know how they'll react to turning over the tank volume 8-12 times an hour. Can some of you more experienced folks chime in?

Is it an option to run a lower flow rate to/from a sump and then run the higher rate within the sump circuit back through the scrubber? In other words, I could put 2 pumps in a sump. One supplies the overflow on my tank at a rate, say, of 80gph. The 2nd pump supplies the scrubber at 200-250gph and the scrubber drains back to the sump. I know that would get the flow rates where I want them, but would that provide adequate nutrition for the screen?

Eric

inkidu
03-15-2010, 11:17 AM
One time I thought I new everything then I woke up.

Welcome to the forum.

I believe that width to height ratio has more to do with optimizing your scrubber.

Don't let that rule over other possibly more important considerations.

If you want the correct flow along a long/short screen or a short/tall screen

have a way to adjust the flow. Some of the people here use a ball valve to adjust flow.

Hope this helps.

SantaMonica
03-15-2010, 06:10 PM
Keep this one simple: Just use the overflow that you have now:

Screen Width-----Gallons Per Hour (GPH)

1" 35
2" 70
3" 105
4" 140
5" 175
6" 210
7" 245
8" 280
9" 315
10" 350
11" 385
12" 420
13" 455
14" 490
15" 525
16" 560
17" 595
18" 630
19" 665