PDA

View Full Version : Introduction and questions

Marlin
05-14-2010, 06:54 AM
Hello Santa Monica and community, I am an Inland Aquatics ATS hobbyist who has been out of the loop for some years now. Set up my first natural system ATS reef in 96, with a lot of input from Borneman and Shimek, back in the Reef-list days. I had great success running ATS in tandem with light periodic skimming and carbon filtration.

Planning a new system and return to the hobby now. I am extremely happy to run into this community, and excited about the idea of eliminating the skimmer from my new project. Santa Monica--how would you compare your system's efficiency to the ones Inland used to sell? From my little experience, your 100 seems kinda over-gunned compared to the Inland ATS I ran back in the day....

Additionally for Santa Monica and friends:
Do you have a time estimate for bringing the Nano Scrubber to market?

Anyone familiar with the latest on live sand beds and where I might go to get back up to speed? Especially interested in information on the smallest sustainable live sand beds, don't want a hundred gallon+ system this time around.

I am additionally in need of a source of quality, fresh, airfreight live rock-intense with life for developing a sustainable deep ecology from scratch.

Regards, and thanx in advance for any time some of you may spend helping to bring me back up to date.

Marlin

SantaMonica
05-14-2010, 11:21 AM
Welcome back. You are the first IA person to appear here.

No info on sand, and I barely remember the stats of the IA or Aquaricare scrubbers. They were one-sided, low-flow, low-light-power, noisy, spraying, and could get stuck. But the big discover since then is that by removing the screen for cleaning, you stop the water from yellowing, and thus do not need carbon.