PDA

View Full Version : ATS on a Breeding System



fishtal
09-14-2010, 01:24 PM
I've been reading about ATSs and wondered if you had any thoughts about applying it to a breeding system. You can see what I'm currently doing here: http://www.mbisite.org/Forums/tm.aspx?m=43725

The broodstock and grow out systems currently have separate systems... filter sock, bio-balls, skimmer and refugium w/LR and macro. I'm setting up an new BRT station this week and could start there and then modify the others next.

One thing I haven't really seen addressed is whether or not all water in a system must pass through the ATS, as in all water coming from an overflow... must it all go through the ATS?

Thanks!

SantaMonica
09-14-2010, 02:13 PM
Several people have done breeding units. Just size the scrubber for 4 X the load. Also, all the water does not have to pass through it.

fishtal
09-17-2010, 09:35 PM
Do you see any issues with putting the ATS on the drain line? Or, should I put it somewhere else in the sump?

The drain line is the white pipe in this pic, temporary. There will be another BRT that connects to the "T".

http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l310/fishtal/Fish%20Breeding%20Stuff/P9160022.jpg

The "T" that is blue is a relief for the return lines when I need lower flow into the rearing tubs:
http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l310/fishtal/Fish%20Breeding%20Stuff/P9160020.jpg

All water will go through the UV on the return line.

SantaMonica
09-17-2010, 10:20 PM
The scrubber can go anywhere, so long as it get enough flow to cover the screen.

fishtal
09-17-2010, 10:27 PM
Ok, thanks! I'll let ya know how it works out. :)

fishtal
11-15-2010, 04:42 PM
I finally got around to doing this project. One of my main concerns was excess evaporation but I stumbled on something that should help that. While in my garage I literally tripped over an old DIY refugium that I was no longer using, and had no plans to use again so I started thinking... I could remove the baffles and put the ATS screen inside! I carefully removed the baffles and cut a few drain holes in the bottom. I ended up cutting a large hole because the smaller ones didn't drain fast enough.

I had already cut slits into a piece of PVC and had the screen roughed up so all I needed was a few things from HD. Mainly a bushing to connect the 3/4" drain line to the 1" ATS pipe and another light. All in all, it cost me under $10 and about an hour of messing around. Here is what I came up with.

http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l310/fishtal/Fish%20Breeding%20Stuff/PB150020.jpg
http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l310/fishtal/Fish%20Breeding%20Stuff/PB150021.jpg
http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l310/fishtal/Fish%20Breeding%20Stuff/PB150024.jpg
http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l310/fishtal/Fish%20Breeding%20Stuff/PB150023.jpg
http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l310/fishtal/Fish%20Breeding%20Stuff/PB150025.jpg

I'll update in a week or so when the algae starts growing. I may add another light to the back at some point if it seems like I need it.

SantaMonica
11-15-2010, 05:42 PM
That's a good spread of light with that reflector.

fishtal
11-15-2010, 06:09 PM
That's what I thought. I'm going to keep an eye on things and maybe add one on the other side if needed. I plan on pulling the skimmer once this gets established too.

I must say that using the old 'fuge made this project really easy.

fishtal
11-27-2010, 09:22 PM
I removed the skimmer this week. Here are some pics of the screen now. Would you say that it's ready to be cleaned or should I wait a bit? I know the 7 day rule, just wasn't sure if that applied to the initial installation. :)

http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l310/fishtal/Fish%20Breeding%20Stuff/PB270002.jpg

Closer view with light removed so you can see...
http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l310/fishtal/Fish%20Breeding%20Stuff/PB270005.jpg
http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l310/fishtal/Fish%20Breeding%20Stuff/PB270006.jpg
http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l310/fishtal/Fish%20Breeding%20Stuff/PB270007.jpg

I am getting some water that is flowing out of the slots and not contacting the screen but the screen itself is getting good flow coverage. I think some of my slots may be too wide and causing this.

SantaMonica
11-27-2010, 10:31 PM
Back the light off... it's starting to burn.

Try to get all the water on the screen... turn down the flow a bit.

Let it go a few more days and clean it.

fishtal
11-28-2010, 05:09 PM
Ok, I backed the light up about an inch. I also propped the light shield a bit so that it forced the water back onto the screen. Thanks for the tips!