+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DIY iron supplement

DIY iron supplement

Well I looking for a DIY method to dose iron for my scrubber. The only thing I could come up with is leaving some small piece of iron to rust way in the sump... What do you think?

Re: DIY iron supplement

you can buy iron suplement pills at your local drug store most of them are reef safe and i know fore a fact that the brand (CVS) and the brand (FERGON) are safe as i have been using them for over a year. the proper way to use them is to disolve a tablet in ro water and let the fillers settle to the bottom then dose the clear liquid but i have been using the whole tabs for 6 months without issue

Administrator

Some people have put iron nails in the sump. I can't recommend it though, never tried it.

DIY iron supplement

Quote Originally Posted by new2scrub
    you can buy iron suplement pills at your local drug store most of them are reef safe and i know fore a fact that the brand (CVS) and the brand (FERGON) are safe as i have been using them for over a year. the proper way to use them is to disolve a tablet in ro water and let the fillers settle to the bottom then dose the clear liquid but i have been using the whole tabs for 6 months without issue
    How much do I dose? When did you start using the tabs? Do you know what fillers they use?

DIY iron supplement

Quote Originally Posted by SantaMonica
    Some people have put iron nails in the sump. I can't recommend it though, never tried it.
    Do you know who? Or posts of them attempting this? I am looking for a household source of iron.

Banned

As it happens, I just did this today.

Just one small nail to begin with. I'll let you know what happens.

Banned

Quote Originally Posted by Rumpy Pumpy
    As it happens, I just did this today.

Just one small nail to begin with. I'll let you know what happens.

Just went & had a look. It's only been 4 or 5 hours and it's already visibly rusty

[quote=Rumpy Pumpy]