+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Need help building ats.

Need help building ats.

Hi,
    I have just become a member to this site, I have been keeping marines since december 2010.
    I have done a fair amount of reading on algae scrubbers and have been very interested in setting one up but never got round to it.
    My system has a 270liter display and 65liter sump. I currently run a skimmer with reverse lit cheato along with 30kgs of live rock.
    Although my system has always had low nitrate and phosphate I have started to get some algae issues and want to get this under control.
    I am undecided on whether to run it off the single 32mm durso drain or get a pump to run it on. I would hope I can run it off the drain as it would be cheaper to build/run.
    The only disadvantage I can see is what if the slot in the pipe gets blocked? How can this be overcome to prevent a flood? I am also a bit tight for space due to the way my sump is designed and skimmer.
    With the flow going through the drain I would imagine it is around 1800-2000lph, I have an eheim compact 3000 as a return but obviously I would need to accurately measure this.
    Anyway thanks for reading and any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hopefully a fts above, an old one.

Re: Need help building ats.

Does anyone run a scrubber off the drain to the sump? Do I need to worry about the pipe getting blocked?
    Thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by jreef
    Does anyone run a scrubber off the drain to the sump? Do I need to worry about the pipe getting blocked?
    Thanks.
    Many run. Just make another emergency elevated pipe outlet in case your ATS drain will get blocked.

Absolutely measure your flow before you build a scrubber on the drain. You may have much less flow than you think.

Thanks for the replies,
    After some thinking I believe it may be easier to run it off a pump due to space restriction around the drain.
    So, a few more questions if I may.