+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Should I remove Coil Denitrator now that I have a scrubber

Should I remove Coil Denitrator now that I have a scrubber

I just got my ATS online 5 days ago. I have been running a Coil Denitrator for about 2 years now. It has done an excellent job at keeping N at (or near) zero. The reason for the ATS is P removal. I don't have a test kit, but I'm pretty sure it's very high, as I have significant nuisance algae growth on my rocks.

So my question is, should I go ahead and remove the Coil Denitrator? Does the ATS need N to function properly, or will screen grow fine with high P levels alone?

Thoughts?

Banned

Re: Should I remove Coil Denitrator now that I have a scrubber

In your circumstance, which is not a normal one, I would say yes to removing the coil denitrator... eventually (when you have an established algae screen, and it is not just slime, which is the first part when an ATS is first started, and almost all the slime comes off until finally algae starts to take root). I wouldn't do it yet, I would just feed more than normal for now to add N back to the tank to get the screen going. Yes, N/P and tied together, and will not be able to lower your P if you have 0 N in the tank unless you use a media made for removing phosphates. The algae consumes both N/P and if one is not present it will not consume the other. In your case I would a little GFO or something similar to lower P for now. Just for a month. Ideally you want to have a little of both in the tank, 5-10 nitrates and .03 phosphates. Keep them both at that level and I believe you will have a happy tank.

Thanks for the quick reply Ace25.
    One more thing to add is that I have hardly any green hair algae. Only a few little bitty spots on one or two rocks. It's red hair algae that is the problem. I'm not sure if the red hair grows better with higher P and the green hair needs more N, or if it's just the type of algae that seems to be the more prevalent in my tank.