+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 10 12345678910 LastLast

Thread: I'm new! Nano scrubber for 5g

I'm new! Nano scrubber for 5g

I've read this forum for a while and I decide to try the scrubber. I keep tanganyikan cichlids for 10 year but I'm new to reef, but I've read on it everyday. I want to try with a 5.5 gallon tank, I will do the DIY nano scrubber kind of Santa. If I understand it right, I was thinking of having a one side 5x5 in screen, with a 200gph pumps (maybe a bigger pump). For the light I'm not sure, I would like to go with Led. I was thinking this led from ebay http://www.ebay.com/itm/DIY-3-x-3W-Red- ... 336ca82f56 but I don't know if only one set would do the trick or if I should go for 2. And if I need something else to plug this led. Sorry for my poor english!!!

Re: I'm new!

I would go with 2 (6 of them total) to be sure you have enough. I have a 2.75x6.75 single sided screen and barely get by with 4 of them. I will be upgrading it to a dual sided screen soon though, mine is on a 10G nano.
    150G. Reef/Mix
    125G. 3 Regular Oscars/1 Jack Dempsey
    75G. 20+ Africans
    40G. Fish/Reef. Algae Scrubbers on ALL my SW
    10G. SW Fish/Reef.
    10G. SW Hospital/new fish quarantine/pod breeder tank
    6 stage RO/DI system 200 GPD.

I have just purchased 6 of these items and they are great . I am using only one at the moment on my old scrubber to see the effects (and waiting for the others to arrive). I was originally going to use 2 on either side, but have now decided on 3 each side as the light spread at 3" from screen isn't great. I am also running mine without the lenses on a recommendation from Kerry, as otherwse the light would be too focussed in one area. The lenses just screw off. The seller told me that a laptop charger would provide enough power to run 4 of these units.

This is what my screen looks like with just the 1 unit running:

Good value for money in my opinion.

Mark