+ Reply to Thread

Thread: AIO Clownfish Breeder w/LED Overflow ATS

AIO Clownfish Breeder w/LED Overflow ATS

Just wanted to share my latest build...

It's a 40B with custom laser cut acrylic panels, creating 3 sections for clown pairs and an overflow area for the ATS.

http://minus.com/mSGXc4OVn (the upload isn't working for me)

Nice work!! ACE25 is breeding clowns to.
    150G. Reef/Mix
    125G. 3 Regular Oscars/1 Jack Dempsey
    75G. 20+ Africans
    40G. Fish/Reef. Algae Scrubbers on ALL my SW
    10G. SW Fish/Reef.
    10G. SW Hospital/new fish quarantine/pod breeder tank
    6 stage RO/DI system 200 GPD.

Very nice. As a complete novice to ATS and looking at info on other threads, do you get a lot of growth on the mesh just using red LED's? Other people seem to say you need at least 1 blue for that size mesh.

Just red LEDs for now. Not a whole lot of growth yet, but the tank has only one pair housed in it at the moment. Never experienced a cycle and all tests measure 0. I'll be moving two more pairs in this weekend.

As an aside, I have a mini 1x6 horizontal scrubber on a 5 gallon nano lit with 2 red LEDs and the growth on that thing is bright green and thick. Before there was algae all over the glass and rocks. since I put in the scrubber the algae has disappeared. One thing to note, that screen has two small bald spots directly under the LEDs, probably because they are so close (2") and strong (60 degree optics china), but I have limited room and can't move the LEDs much higher. So I would put the LEDs 3-4" away from the screen and use a potentiometer to control the light in an ideal world. This mini scrubber was thrown together out of spare parts so oh well. For what it is, it's worked fabulously.

Here's un update on the breeder system. All the pairs have been moved in. We have misbar percs on the left, snowflakes in the middle and picassos on the right.

Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.jpg
Views:	668
Size:	95.6 KB
ID:	1836