+ Reply to Thread

Thread: New to this

New to this

I finally got through reading the 111 page thread on the Reef Sanctuary forum, whew!

Quite fascinating indeed, and not surprising either seeing all the naysayers here, there and everywhere.

I am still a newbie in the reefing hobby, but am a seasoned horticultural veteran. The plant world is full of old wives tales, myths and fallacies, not unlike the aquarium world. It is human nature to resist change, and to not readily admit mistakes. I see the same things going on with regards to algae filters, for better or worse.

It's amazingly similar to the deep sand bed "debate". Close minded folks fail to understand the essence of all these different methodologies, which is that not everything is as it seems and you need to develop a true understanding of your particular system before you can manipulate the environment to get the results you want. A skimmer quite possibly is a good thing in a FOWLR tank, but can be detrimental in a system where you desire filter feeders. It depends what you want.

I first setup my 39 gal + 15g sump last spring, but have just begun re-doing it thanks to Hurricane Sandy and loss of power for 2 weeks. Oh well, could be much worse so I can't complain. But my initial set up included the development of a functional deep sand bed to help with natural filtration, and also a skimmerless tank because I do not want to pull goodies from the water. The plan was to keep all the food and detritus in the water column to feed all the microfauna that is developing in the sandbed.