+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbies always have the dumbest questions

Newbies always have the dumbest questions

Hi, I'm new to the algae scrubber idea and I'm going to implement one this weekend. Here's my question. Is it possible that if I don't get it right, that it will still benefit my tank? From the looks of it, it's hard to get it wrong, but I'm just curious if a scrubber can have a negative affect if something isn't quite done right.

Re: Newbies always have the dumbest questions

Negative effects:
    A little noise.
    Some ongoing energy expense.
    Possibly some salt creep.
    Possibly some temp rise from lighting or pumping.
    Humidity increase.

You could have some of those or all of them while having nothing improve in the tank.

But really these are simple beasts that can always be made to work and that rarely cause any issues.

I think my question stems from being unsure if the lighting I have will work. Regarless, the lights will be the easiest part to replace. Otherwise, most of those other problems aren't any problem as I already have noise, heat, too much evaporation, salt creep, from my innefficient seaclone skimmer. I'm actually excited to do this and replace that POS. Also by taking that skimmer out, I'll be able to do so much more with that space, including covering the sump minus the scrubber. I am imagining my evaporation and heat will both actually minimize.

It's a 20g tank and I'm looking at doing a 5"x6" screen. Hardest part is going to be how to mount it above the sump combined with cutting down my plumbing to modify it.
    Come to think of it, this is such a great idea, my fish stuff will take up way less space, my wife will love it probably more than me!

Have at it!

Adding to the stupid newbie questions..

Couldn't a biowheel filter with a light JUST above the wheels do the same thing?

And the questions don't end here....