+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: cant get nitrates down

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14

    cant get nitrates down

    Hi Guys
    I need some advice on my scrubber, every week a get GHA and a good amount off of my screen but i cant seem to bring my nitrates down to 0 or any where near, they are about 10 to 15 ppm. and phosphate is always 0 or as close as i can see it to be (salifert)

    i only feed 1/2 a cube a day and it all gets consumed within 5 min,

    its 130 x 150 cm lit only on 1 side with a 10w led 8 red 1 blue

    i run it on a 14 hour photo period and it get about 3000 gph flow,

    Top up is done with RO.

    visually it performs flawlessly the stuff i pull from the screen i have to do it every 7 days its so thick

    thanks in advance

  2. #2

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    10,364
    You just need more scrubber.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14
    No I went with a waterfall in the end, bios starts on this page for it.
    http://www.ultimatereef.net/forums/s...=638772&page=5

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,710
    Let's consider more detail:

    1) did you err on your dimensions? 130x150cm is like 50" x 60". Did you mean millimeter? That would be more like 5x6. I'm thinking that is what you meant

    2) your light is a 10W multichip, right?

    3) UAS or waterfall? 3000 GPH or LPH?

    Pictures??

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,710
    A you beat me to it with your post. Just checked out the thread.

    Are you having tank issues? N at 10-15 is not horrible, but some corals don't like any nitrate.

    I would say increase the photoperiod, your screen is mature enough to handle a little more light.

    Still wonder about the L vs G on the flow

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14
    Flow is lph sorry.

    I lost a zoa colony, but I think they were the famous melting hong Kong zoas but also 2 monti frags, they just bleached out but everything else is thriving.
    Ive just ordered another led for the other side of the screen.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,710
    So are you really putting 750+ GPH over a 6" wide screen? Is that the actual measure flow? because that's a ton of flow.

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,710
    Also going double-sided will help tremendously

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    14
    It's a 3000 lph return pump, with no bends and only 1 meter to travel so not a lot of head loss. The scrubber is gravity fed from the main down pipe on a twin standpipe overflow.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts