+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Inline Algae Scrubber

Inline Algae Scrubber

Hi All. I am new to algae scrubbers and would like to add one to my 55 gallon african cichlid tank. I wanted to ask if anyone has tried converting a UV sterilizer into an algae scrubber? I am thinking about buying a 36W UV sterilizer off ebay, replacing the UV bulb with an equivalent CFL and putting a "tube" of screen material into the housing. That should give me about 120 sq. inches of attachment surface and about 3000 lumens of 3000 kelvin light. The idea is to hook the unit after a canister and use a 500gph external pump to recirculate water through it.

Administrator
    Welcome.

Problem is, no air-water interface.

Ok, I assumed the air feed was to create water flow. So, the air bubbles need to flow past or through the algae growth? Is it for gas exchange? What about adding an inline diffuser/atomizer (such as Up-Aqua Co2) on the inlet of the assembly and feed high pressure air to it from a deepwater air pump? The bubbles should be very fine.

I working on fixing up a 90 gallon tank but the stand that I have doesn't have space for a sump. Doing water changes with that large of a volume will be pretty difficult so an algae scrubber is a must. Can a HOG3 be hidden by a 5"D X 9"W overflow cover if both top and bottom are open? The plan is to have about 30 adult mbuna cichlids in it

Administrator

You want big bubbles, not fine. Also, a UV container would be almost impossible to clean out.

A HOG3 is 6" wide X 8" tall, so part of it would still be visible if you are trying to hide it. However you could extend the overflow cover, or decorate or paint the HOG3 shell.

You could also consider a floating scrubber to float on the display surface.