+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Help with HOG

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    India
    Posts
    12

    Help with HOG

    Greetings of the day,

    I am currently using HOG 3x on my system.

    It has been 3 months and i have not seen significant algae growth on my screen.

    I am only be able to see growth on the glass area where hog has been attached.

    Is this the problem i only face or all HOG user face ??

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA, USA
    Posts
    9,910
    Welcome from India.

    Are you on low-power, and set to 18 hours per day?

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    India
    Posts
    12
    I had set the scrubber on timer

    So here is the schedule for first 2 weeks
    it was on low power for 8 hrs and on full power just for 1 hour in between

    In 3rd week i changed a bit and now its 3 hrs low power and 3 hrs full power

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA, USA
    Posts
    9,910
    I'll need a picture of the growth surface.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    India
    Posts
    12
    Here are couple of pics i just clicked

    In picture you ll be able to see the algae in the glass also.

    Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	16.4 KB
ID:	6481

    Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	12.6 KB
ID:	6482

    Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	16.1 KB
ID:	6483

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA, USA
    Posts
    9,910
    Looks like there might be high nutrients in the water causing dark growth, which is letting go. Clean the surfaces with a toothbrush in your sink so the white shows, then run full power for 22 hours.

    Also, I'll send you a screen insert to try temporarily.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    India
    Posts
    12
    The nutrients are not high on sailfert testkits.

    Ll do that and run it on full power for 22 hrs not a problem.

    Whats a screen insert ?? And when ll you send ?

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    India
    Posts
    12
    There might be nutrients issue as i also have hair algae but on all testkits it shows positive ..... I have also tried on friends testkit

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA, USA
    Posts
    9,910
    Sent it yesterday; it is a Green Grabber screen that is plastic. Sometime the algae sticks to it better to begin with.

    Pictures of your aquarium?

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    India
    Posts
    12
    Sent it where ??

    Ll share tomorrow ......

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts