+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Too much light or too much nutrients?

Too much light or too much nutrients?

Hi!
    I've been running an ATS for 4 months now. During this time it has only grown a yellow "gooey" algae and some brown/black types. No green algae on the screen so far.

The ATS has 18 1W LEDs on each side (15x red 660nm and 3x blue 460nm). The LEDs are on for 12 hours/day.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0286.jpg
Views:	351
Size:	93.8 KB
ID:	6726

I've read that black/brown algae means high nutrients in the water and yellow algae means too much light. Since I have it both on my screen, I'm confused about how to correct it.

Name:	IMG_20160904_232616279.jpg
Views:	467
Size:	99.5 KB
ID:	6725

I clean the screen every week with a toothbrush, leaving very little algae remaining.

The aquarium display has green algae growing on the rocks and gravel and it doesn't seen to be reducing. I also have to clean the glass every other day.

Any thoughts about how to correct this?

Administrator
    Welcome from Brazil.

Just looks like green hair has not attached yet. Make sure your screen is rough, and after several more toothbrush cleanings it should fill in.

You could dose some iron if you like.

Hi!

Well, I do have some green hair algae growing inside the ATS, around the drain and in some corners... It is just not growing on the screen..
    Maybe my screen is not rough enough after all.

Today I gave the screen a thorough cleaning. Then I roughed up the screen a bit more with a hole saw.

A few strings of the screen broke off in the process and I'm not sure if I can make this screen rougher than it is now... This is how it looked when I first mounted the ATS:

Name:	IMG_0280.jpg
Views:	361
Size:	94.8 KB
ID:	6728Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0281.jpg
Views:	361
Size:	98.7 KB
ID:	6729

I also increased the photoperiod to 18 hour/day.