+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Addition of CO2 ?

Addition of CO2 ?

Found this comment from a professional grower:

I grow algae for a living in the Pacific Northwest. We have to use artificial lighting and in fact promote growth with a 24 hour per day light dependent cycle. Thus we must disolve CO2 into the cultures semi-continuously as needed. Artificial light will never replace natural sunlight and the amount of energy spent on electricity for lighting versus compressed CO2 is tenfold.

Thoughts ?
    CW3 Wentling, USA, INF, INSCOM, AVN (Ret)

Re: Addition of CO2 ?

[attachment=0:29v7s1n5]Algae Matrix2.JPG[/attachment:29v7s1n5]
    Attached Images Attached Images

Thoughts?

None! Since so little information is provided. :lol:

seems right there is a thread of where a guy (sorry dont know your name) who used a venturi on the scrubber to suck in air and has found good results where there is a "foam" on the screen.

Whites, did you want a doctoral thesis on the benefits of CO2 for optimum agal growth ?
    I understand you want specifics, I do as well. I apologize for not providing more data. ops:

Not trying to be difficult here, just want to know if you think the benefit is worthy of cost and effort.

CO2 works for higher plants, so why not algae. :mrgreen:

I think I might try it as I do have the equipment: CO2 tank, high pressure regulator, bubble counter, PH monitor,
    diffuser and misc stuff.

Might be awhile, as I have so many projects and hobbies. I am retired, but I am busy with the things I never
    had time for as when I was an electronic warfare signal intelligence analyst, Russina linguist, weapons expert
    and covert operations helicopter pilot. :P

Administrator