+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Starting new tank

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3

    Smile Starting new tank

    Hi

    I am about to start a new tank. it is about 200G, I have already build my ATS about 432" of sufface area. I am wanting to know. Could I use a ATS in conjuction with a vodac dosing. I really do not want to have a DSB, I am looking to run a shallow bed in the DT, and one under the ATS, with live rock.

    What are your thoughts?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA, USA
    Posts
    10,161

    Re: Starting new tank

    You should not have to do vodka or anything else, if your scrubber is working properly.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3

    Re: Starting new tank

    So, I could get away with just running my ATS, and no skimmer and no DSB. I was thinking of doisng vodac, just to help the process or will it cause more harm than good.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA, USA
    Posts
    10,161

    Re: Starting new tank

    You already have your rock, so a scrubber will do everything you need (if sized/built/run properly). Check the FAQ for vodka info: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68

    You might note, that non-vertical scrubbers (which it seems you are building) are weaker and harder to get operating well.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3

    Re: Starting new tank

    Yes I am thinking of have a non verticle ATS, can I ask why are they harder to run?
    In terms of water changes, would a I able to cut back on the amount of waters changes, what are your thoughts.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    49

    Re: Starting new tank

    Its harder to provide flow to the horizontal scrubbers and they get clogged easier.

    Depends what you want to achieve with the water changes. If your mission is to reduce nitrate/phosphate than they replace water changes in that respect. If the mission is to replace trace elements then they do not.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA, USA
    Posts
    10,161

    Re: Starting new tank

    Yes the more horizontal a screen it, the more the algae will block the flow as it grows.

    As for trace elements (besides CA, Alk, Mag, and maybe Strontium), they are all supplied in the food you feed.

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts