+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: Can i have the screen bottom submerged in display tank?

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    21

    Can i have the screen bottom submerged in display tank?

    why not have the screen return /bottom , above water level in main display and eliminate the bucket entirely

    I am aware that the lighting will not be isolated and tank will remain lit longer than usual

    this is currently my setup .as my wife does not want anythinh especially a bucket above my sumpless tank
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA, USA
    Posts
    10,160

    Re: Can i have the screen bottom submerged in display tank?

    You can put a scrubber anywhere as long as the guidlines for light, flow, and size are followed. From what I can see, yours will not work becasue the lights are too far away, are not pointed at the screen, the screen is too small (and is one-sided, and only the part above water counts), and the clear pipe will fill with algae and block the flow. Check the pics of other designs... there are a few that have some in-hood designs that may work. Or just build an acrylic version that looks nice.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    21

    Re: Can i have the screen bottom submerged in display tank?

    thanks for the reply
    thaTS WHY YOU GUYS ARE THE SPECIALISTS
    i realise that the clear pipe was a mistake (good pickup)
    i will use a non-transparent tube (PVC type ,white will do)

    I should also get a CFL pointed at the screen

    I should also go double sided

    I there a design like this that has been done before in anyones knowledge

    I think there is a place for it for anyone who is sumpless and has height restrictions above his main display tank

    I cannot go with a hood design as i do not have a hood
    maybe a gutter/trough set up will be the best way forward

    my tank is 92cm by 34 cm by 34 cm
    which is aboutr twenty gallons
    the screen is a bit small but i thought with all the additinal filtration i have going it will work

    but what do i know?
    all feedback will be apreciated
    stoked to finally become part of a discussion afet hour of reading others discusions

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    21

    Re: Can i have the screen bottom submerged in display tank?

    Surprisingly i am seein growth on the screen on day five i am still gonna run the screen and use it to seed my trough type scrubber

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA, USA
    Posts
    10,160

    Re: Can i have the screen bottom submerged in display tank?

    Try a horizontal design, 4 X 20. It will pick up more of the light, and will fit flat on top of the tank.

    The growth you are getting now will not do anything, filter-wise.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    21

    Re: Can i have the screen bottom submerged in display tank?

    Good day
    what an honour to interface with the legendary santa monica all the way here from south africa

    if is not a lot to ask can you please reference the 4x20 design for my above display tank design
    a link will do or thread and post number

    (i read the one with the wooden box trough as well as the cement screen type)

    i can confirm it just looks like cyano on me green wit ha little bit of green

    once again thank you ,i really commend the pro bono good work you are doing

    I have spent such a lot of money on my system and am still seeing phosphates (light blue on salifert)

    my nitrates are being kept in check with water changes (30% weekly)

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA, USA
    Posts
    10,160

    Re: Can i have the screen bottom submerged in display tank?

    Welcome to filter land

    Try something like this:
    viewtopic.php?f=3&t=72&p=398&hilit=nano#p398
    viewtopic.php?f=3&t=144&p=1002&hilit=nano#p1002

    And look here for more design ideas:
    viewtopic.php?f=3&t=26

    If cyano is on your screen, you need more light.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    21

    Re: Can i have the screen bottom submerged in display tank?

    Good day
    I have manufactured my upgrade as follows
    3,5 lire tupperware bucket
    25 watt par 38
    3,500K 5 lumins CFL spot light
    (equivalent to 100watt)
    1 cm from screen
    r
    unning 24 hrs a day

    the screen is 15cm wide x30 cm long
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA, USA
    Posts
    10,160

    Re: Can i have the screen bottom submerged in display tank?

    Pull the light back to 10cm. Put the light on a timer for 18 hours a day.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    21

    Re: Can i have the screen bottom submerged in display tank?

    will do
    but what do you think about the design
    i think it is a low cost option for the sumpless guys

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts